New Music Thursday 18.07.13

The sun is out, the fan is out and the windows are down. So it’s time for the tracks we’re been loving the past week!

Kings Of Leon – Supersoaker

Nearly 10 years since the release of their debut album, Kings of Leon have unveiled a new single that harks back to their soulful, excessive-haired days. Supersoaker is the first track to be taken from their sixth album, Mechanical Bull, due out in September.

CHVRCHES – Falling (Haim Cover)

CHVRCHES are wonderful. Haim are wonderful. What’s not to love? Nothing – that’s what. Removing the Fleetwood Mac rush and the r&b leanings of the Haim sisters, the Scottish pop-rockers drive the song in their own sweet, bubbling, synth-pop flavour.

Sultanov – What Lies Beneath (Live)

Sultanov’s debut album is out this week so what better way to celebrate than a a special live version of track ‘What Lies Beneath Performed” performed in London last month.

Friends – The Way 

Here’s something a bit unexpected: a sultry, slow-burning power ballad from Brooklyn’s Samantha Urbani and the new + apparently sleeker version of her band Friends, with an unspecified assist coming from the multi-talented Dev Hynes. The Way single is out on Lucky Number Music.


“Sultanov” announces release of self-titled debut album.



Sultanov album packshot

  • Debut album from Sultanov featuring the single ‘Keep On Running’
  • Co-written and produced by Andy Wright (Annie Lennox, Simply Red, Jeff Beck, Imelda May)
  • Second single ‘Break Free’ also out July 1

Moscow-based but Azerbaijani by birth, Dan Sultanov is a singer, songwriter, instrumentalist, visual artist and scriptwriter and on 1 July 2013 releases his anticipated self-titled debut album.

Produced and co-written by Andy Wright, whose studio credits include Annie Lennox and Simply Red, ‘Sultanov’ is a varied and diverse album, influenced by everyone from Tchaikovsky and Beethoven, to Beatles and Jimi Hendrix through Depeche Mode, Radiohead and Michael Jackson. No wonder then, that even Sultanov struggles to define its sound.

‘It’s a combination of energy and romance, rhythm and melody,’ says Dan. ‘For me, melody is the key component to any song. So I’ve focused on this and worried less about what genre it fits into.’

Highlights include the single ‘Keep On Running,’ whose propulsive synth lines and solid songwriting carry echoes of Phoenix in its punchy chorus and vocal harmonies. Forthcoming single ‘Break Free,’ Sultanov’s take on what can only be called career frustrations, combines layered harmonies, a pounding drumbeat and guitars reminiscent of European indie-poppers The Whitest Boy Alive.

Elsewhere, there’s ‘What Lies Beneath’, a Sultanov favourite which fuses Morcheeba-era trip-hop beats with lush strings, the rocky riffs of ‘Television’ and the distorted 90s bass lines of the electric ‘Black Light.’ Other tracks like the 60s sounding ‘Live Your Life’ and ‘How You Gonna Know’ mark the album’s most optimistic moments; and don’t miss the album closer, the soothing classical strains of ‘Can’t Change.

Born in Baku, Azerbaijan, Sultanov comes from long line of acclaimed artists, who have single-handedly created some of the most distinguished art and art directions in former Soviet Union, today Russia, and Europe for generations. His grandfather Tahir Salakhov is an internationally celebrated Azerbaijani painter and draughtsman – a leading light in Russian art for the better part of 50 years, whilst his mother and grandmother are also artists. His aunt, Aidan Salakhova, is a world known gallerist who has her work exhibited across the globe, including at the 2011 Venice Bienniale, where two of her sculptures were controversially censored.

Following in his family’s footsteps, Sultanov is using his debut album to also showcase his own art. The sleeve and accompanying booklet all feature his artwork, whilst the video for ‘Keep on Running’ is an animated short based on his own ink drawings.

‘I have always been surrounded by art in its many different forms,’ says Dan. ‘All these sounds, rhythms, colours, canvases, paints, charcoals, everything, helped develop my vision of the world and made me the person and artist that I am today. I can’t wait to finally share my music.’

Single ‘Break Free’ and the accompanying album ‘Sultanov’ are both out July 1st.

Track Listing:

1 – Keep On Running

2 – What Lies Beneath

3 – Break Free

4 – Touched

5 – Black Light

6 – How You Gonna Know

7 – Television

8 – 50 Fathoms Down

9 – Live Your Life

10 – Can’t Change

For more information, please contact Steve Rose @ EMMS 0207 607 5765