Emms Publicity

New video from Pat Dam Smyth

Irish musician Pat Dam Smyth has just released his new video for ‘Friends’, the first single from his debut album ‘The Great Divide’.


‘Friends’ is released on October 29 on Monumental Music Group.


Toronto’s Saidah Baba Talibah confirms UK Debut

If you like your funk, soul and rock all in one, you might be interested in Toronto’s Saidah Baba Talibah, who’s confirmed she’s coming to the UK this December, to release her debut single, (S)Cream.

With big vocals, and big electric guitar riffs, Saidah sings about a lover so good she can’t keep him down…

“It’s a love song, a statement, telling your baby that they’re doing it juuuuust right,” says Saidah.

She’s made a stunning space-age video too, directed by brother-sister duo Maya and Shevan Bastian too, in which Saidah, her face intricately painted, sings against an intergalactic backdrop, with only a snake for company…

Saidah will be playing her first ever London shows here:

5 December – Rich Mix (Bethnal Green)
6 December – The Windmill (Brixton)
9 December – Cherry Cool (Westbourne Grove)

Listen to Anja McCloskey’s new single – A Kiss

Following the fantastic And Her Head, released earlier this year, our lovely Southampton-based singer Anja McCloskey is back with a brand new single, ‘A Kiss,’ – featuring backing vocals from Thomas Tantrum’s David Miatt.

It’s not out until January, but we can give you an exclusive listen right here:

Anja is currently filming the video for ‘A Kiss,’ for which she promises they’re pulling out all the stops. “Whilst the last video was a very natural affair, this new one will be more performance based. We will be in costume and full make-up, and some band members may even get to be seduced by our evil protagonist….” Anja is also working with artist Joe McDonald on a stop motion animation for understated B-Side ‘Black Coffee.’ Watch this space for news on both.

In the meantime the previous video for And Her Head is worth a peek here.

EMMS Publicity’s 10th birthday bonanza.

Now, we’re nothing if not generous souls here.

EMMS Publicity reaches the grand old age of 10 in early October and, to kick off our celebrations, we’re giving away a very special one-off remix of Francis Neve’s classic first single ‘Brian’s Drying Up’ – by rising (self-proclaimed) “goodstep” star Bangatang.

Yes you’ll be able to download the remix ABSOLUTELY FREE from our Soundcloud for 24 hours on Monday October 3. But first, have a sneak preview here:

After Tuesday October 4, the remix will only again be available (for dollar) as part of Francis Neve’s forthcoming Dance Around The Fires EP (released late November). So grab it while you can!

Oh, and because it’s our 10th birthday, indulge us, if you will, as we unveil 10 fascinating facts about EMMS… *deep breath*

1. The company was established in 2001 by the then 26 year old Stephen Emms. First clients? Dance icons-du-jour Paul Oakenfold, Dave Pearce and Timo Maas.
2. We launched debut releases by Lethal Bizzle, David Guetta, Jay Sean, Eric Prydz – and, in 2006, a rather lovely 19 year old called Florence Welch.
3. Other international stars we’ve worked with include Sia, Kosheen, Jill Scott, Chrissie Hynde, Fergie, Hall & Oates, Pete Tong and Carl Cox.
4. Not to mention dozens of labels and brands, including One Little Indian, BMG, Sony, Ministry Of Sound, Three Six Zero Group, Southern Fried and Rob Da Bank’s Sunday Best.
5. In 2007 EMMS Publicity was the sole UK PR company selected to feature in the best-selling DIY manual “The Guerilla Guide to the Music Business”…
6. …and in 2011 we launched our artist management division, imaginitively titled EMMS Artist Management
7. We like food too. And therefore work with the odd restaurant or two.
8. We like a tipple – in moderation, of course – and have launched or worked with lots of boozy venues like KOKO, Barrio, Guanabara, Charlotte Street Blues.
9. In addition to his PR responsibilities, Stephen also writes about the travel & the arts in The Guardian and elsewhere.
10. In addition to his PR responsibilities, account director Steve Rose is a dab hand at the banjo – and, as you can see above, draws a pretty impressive birthday cake.

So there we have it. Sorry if we went on a bit. Enjoy the track. We’ll tweet again on October 3 to remind you to download it.

And watch this space as we’ll be premiering Francis Neve’s new single here next week. Over and out.

The Original Jill Scott from the vault Vol 1

On October 15 Hidden Beach is proud to release “The Original Jill Scott from the vault, Vol. 1”. Listen exclusively to four tracks here:

The Original Jill Scott includes music from a stream of recording sessions that were intentionally held for future releases.

“We’ve always maintained that Jill was one of the most talented artists of her generation,” says Hidden Beach founder Steve McKeever. “Full of future classic Jill Scott recordings, the vault at Hidden Beach confirms and underscores this assertion. Our agreement with Jill to open up the vault and share the treasures inside with her fans is a huge win for music lovers everywhere. This special project and recent studio album effectively end a long Jill Scott drought with a monsoon of artistry at its best.”

Jill worked with Hidden Beach to select and approve all the songs that are on the The Original Jill Scott and the collection is undoubtedly something very special: highlights include the irresistible opening track, “I Don’t Know”, which contains an interpolation of the Stanley Clarke classic ‘Gotta Find My Own Place”, “The Light”, produced by Dre & Vidal, the funky “Love to Love”, the classic soul of “Running Away” and, of course, “Lovely Day”, Jill’s take on Bill Wither’s Grammy-award winner, produced here by DJ Jazzy Jeff.

Here’s the full track-listing: 1. Intro – Love To Love Prelude 0:20 2. I Don’t Know (Gotta Have You) 3:51 3. Wondering Why? (You Don’t Talk To Me) 3:49 4. The Light (Piano Mix) 3:12 5. Wake Up Baby 3:55 6. Lovely Day 4:16 7. Dear Mr. & Mrs. Record Industry 3:39 8. Love To Love 3:37 9. Running Away 5:24 10. I’m Prettier 4:13 11. Comes To Light (Everything) 4:45 12. Holding On 4:54

A deluxe edition will also feature “The Light (Original Mix)” and “And I Heard…(Do You Understand?)” (audio) and a video of “North Side Philly Love”.

Hidden Beach is an American independent record label and entertainment company specializing in Urban Alternative, R&B, Soul, Inspirational and Contemporary Jazz music genres. Hidden Beach was formed in 1998 as the vision of its founder and CEO Steve McKeever and currently holds a distribution deal with Universal Music Distribution Group. In addition to a catalogue that includes Jill Scott, The Unwrapped series, Darius Rucker, Kindred the Family Soul, Dr. Cornel West and BeBe Winans, artists currently signed to Hidden Beach include Mike Phillips, Naturally 7, Glen Scott, and The Tony Rich Project.

For more information on Hidden Beach in the UK please contact: Stephen Emms/ Steve Rose @ EMMS Publicity firstname@emmspublicity.com 020 7226 0990


Scarlette Fever, Kentish Town, July 2011, by Ray Burmiston

It’s raining. Bucketing. Torrential. A perfect summer’s day in London, of course. So thank God Scarlette Fever is sheltering inside, in the dark-panelled mansion of some distant aunt, with just her piano and reels of childhood Super 8 footage for company.

And no, before you ask, she’s not ‘Elated’, absolutely far from it…

“It’s basically a song about growing up. The stark reality that there isn’t always a happy ending, that dreams don’t always come true. Those of us who don’t go on the Jeremy Kyle show tend to put on a brave face; we ‘keep calm and carry on’. This is a song about what lies beneath.”

Read more about Scarlette and ‘Elated’ here. Out Sept 18.