Daryl Hall new album details & UK live summer 2012 shows

In advance of his intimate shows at London’s Shepherd’s Bush Empire on July 12 and the Latitude Festival (July 14), legendary singer-songwriter Daryl Hall is set to release his fifth solo studio album, Laughing Down Crying, on July 9 (Verve Forecast).

With his iconic soulful vocals, Hall’s newest collection feels fresh and current while still maintaining his signature style and songwriting prowess. Hall was joined in the studio by co-producers Greg Bieck (Jennifer Lopez, Destiny’s Child, Ricky Martin) and Paul Pesco for the making of this album.

Powerhouse producer, the late T-Bone Wolk (Billy Joel, Carly Simon, Elvis Costello) lent his expertise on stand-out tracks “Lifetime of Love,” “Wrong Side of History” and “Problem With You.” This album serves as the last project they worked on together after a prolific 30-year relationship.

The soulful ‘Talking to You’ is the lead single, out June 25. Here he is performing it on his hit monthly show Live From Daryl’s House:

While Daryl Hall is adored for his work in Hall and Oates and already illustrious solo career, he has recently been making waves as a “tastemaker” for up-and-coming talent as host and Executive Producer of his smash hit, web television series Live From Daryl’s House. He has been giving artists like Fitz and the Tantrums and Company of Thieves a chance to perform in front of national audiences, often for the first time.

On the programme, which won the 2010 WEBBY Award in the Variety category, Hall seeks out new and breaking talent and invites them to his home in Millerton, NY. One of the most unlikely collaborations that stemmed from his show was his pairing up with electro-funk duo Chromeo for a standout performance at Bonnaroo in 2010. Since its inception in late 2007, Live From Daryl’s House has since gained national in the US too.

For ‘An Evening With Daryl Hall’ at London’s Shepherd’s Bush Empire, Daryl will perform songs from the new album as well as music from Hall & Oates, the “rock and soul” duo he founded with John Oates . The pair is recognized as the “Number One Selling Duo” in music history by the Recording Industry Association of America, a title they still hold today. Hall, an inductee to the Songwriters Hall of Fame, penned six songs that reached No. 1 on the Billboard charts, including such classics as “Rich Girl” and “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)” and another five tunes that registered in the Top 10. Hall’s solo career began in the ’70s and he has released a handful of critically acclaimed albums in that time: Sacred Songs in 1980; Three Hearts in the Happy Ending Machine in 1986 (which spawned the No. 5 Billboard chart hit “Dreamtime”); Soul Alone in 1993; and Can’t Stop Dreaming in 1996.

With such an incredible legacy behind him and an exciting platform from which to move forward, the future is limitless for Daryl Hall. There are many new artists, some of whom he has championed on his show, who would attribute their work to the influence of the iconic songwriting and melodies that have solidified Hall as one of the most important artists in musical history. Laughing Down Crying will surely hit home with all of his loyal fans who have been waiting over a decade for his next solo effort.

Full track listing:
1. Laughing Down Crying
2. Talking to Myself
3. Lifetime of Love
4. Eyes for You
5. Save Me
6. Message to Ya
7. Wrong Side of History
8. Get Out of the Way
9. Crash and Burn
10. Problem With You

An Evening With Daryl Hall Live – Shepherd Bush Empire 12 July. Tickets: 0844 871 8803 or here

Daryl Hall UK PR & Publicity: Stephen Emms and Steve Rose at EMMS Publicity firstname@emmspublicity.com


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s